top of page


The Willard Johnson Award was started in 2009 to honor Troop 50's Top "Old Buzzard" for their tireless behind the scene work. Willard Johnson founded Troop 50 in 1960 and served as its first Scoutmaster.

Mr. Johnson, known as "W.J." to his friends, worked countless hours behind the scenes to help in building Leonard Scout Ranch outside of Granbury, Texas. This task helped to earn him the prestigious Silver Beaver Award from the Longhorn Council, unfortunately Leonard Scout Ranch closed a few years ago. This award is in honor of Mr. Johnson's efforts in building Troop 50 into the successful troop it is today over 56 years after its founding. The following are the names of Troop 50's Top Old Buzzards.

2009 - Danny Burke

2010 - Joel Lewallen

2011 - Steve Eubanks

2012 - Charlie Dierker

2013 - Brent Somers

2014 - Matt Menger

2015 - Kirk Broome

2016 - Sherry Stevenson

2017 - Kevin McClean

2018 - Keith Holt

2019 - William Smith

2020 - George Muckleroy

2021 - Dan Howard

2022 - Sean Conlan

2023 - Joel Lewallen

2024 -

bottom of page